Poetry

Image

Last week I was going to an interview way too early in the morning, and as I left my house, I saw the building across the street being demolished. I’ve always thought that buildings are torn down using, well, a wrecking ball, but apparently not all of them. This one was being pulled to pieces by what looked like a gentle stream of water (coming out of an enormous metal hose). The building was far enough away that I couldn’t really hear the noise of the walls falling down, I just saw large pieces of cement flaking off and gliding down the building frame. It was oddly beautiful, and it reminded me of some poem about the unexpected power of water – The Waste Land, perhaps?

Anyway, then I was 5 minutes late for my train because I was so busy gawking at the demolition process and almost missed my interview.

About Varia

Traveler, writer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Talk to me

