the tragedy of e-readers

While hanging out with my mom, dad, and their same-age-or-older friends this weekend, I was horrified to see that the people I thought would be on my side until the bitter end of the e-book vs proper books debate have all abandoned ship, and a long time ago.

My mom & dad both use iPads almost exclusively as e-readers. The other three people who live in Paris have both converted to using e-readers in the last year or so since I saw them last. They claim they are easier on their eyes than reading real books, and of course add the usual argument about it being so much easier to just download books instead of either buying them or trying to find them in your house.

This is what shocks me the most. Of everyone I know personally, these people probably have the most ridiculously gigantic libraries at home. Surely they should be defending the art of the printed book and not embracing this ridiculous fake-book thing? Apparently comfort comes before everything though, and they’re happy to let their enormous libraries collect dust and remain mere decorative elements of their homes.

I just hope they ALL leave me ALL of their books in their wills, because I will be the last keeper of Real Paper Books on Earth. (Mostly because I`m not sure I will ever be able to afford an iPad.)

Varia

About Varia

Traveler, writer.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to the tragedy of e-readers

  1. Barbara says:

    I’m on your side Varia! There is no way I will convert to e-readers. Why? First of all because going to a library or book store is a pleasure which I do not WANT to spare. Especially not for the sake of convenience because convenience is foible which prevents you from experiencing all the exciting things in life. Secondly, books smell good. Thirdly, you can’t write inscriptions in the front of e-books. And I’m not sure whether e-books can trigger personal memories like: “I used to read this book during my holiday” or “Hey, that’s the book I bought in Paris.” … I could go on forever about this. To make it short: books have an emotional value which e-readers cannot replace.

Talk to me

