Paris, May 2012

I just got back from a quick visit to Paris to (very briefly) see my parents and (even more briefly) wander around and shove some croissants into my mouth.

I only have a few notable remarks to make about my trip:

  1. Half of the people wandering around with Paris guidebooks were actually French.
  2. I want a cat.
  3. If I only have 6 hours to spend in Paris and am limited by an injured foot and lack of vehicle, I choose to go to: Le Marais to St Germain-des-Pres to St Michel. Actually I would have liked to spend a bit more time on the right bank but for some reason I got stuck in St Germain for like 2 hours looking for a place to eat (and settled on an awful one in the end).
  4. Paris is one of those cities that seems unable to contain all of the memories that it holds. Can you imagine the ridiculous amount of emotions and thoughts people have associated with Paris? I myself, one single person who doesn’t even live anywhere nearby, have so many memories stored in Paris that I can’t even deal with all of them at once.
  5. Paris is, at once, both very unwelcoming and irresistible. It’s the “bad boy” of big cities.

That’s pretty much it. Now I am back in Maastricht, armed with The Master & Margarita, a pile of stick deodorant (Europe must be the only place in the world where this is so difficult to find), some French chocolate and a bunch of new running clothes. Here’s hoping my marathon injuries heal soon.

Here, have some cat photos:

About Varia

Traveler, writer.
This entry was posted in City and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Paris, May 2012

  1. The Master & Margarita is my favorite book! I carry a copy in my purse! I hope your injury heals soon enough!

Talk to me

